Abandoned Drive-ins of Texas

April 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

During this last week I found an awesome drive-in movie blog that I wanted to share – I think whoever is working on this is a pure genius. What they’re doing is wandering around the state of Texas in search of old abandoned drive-ins. In Texas alone there are hundreds of drive-ins that once were, and several that still are holding on – mostly in the larger cities of Houston and Dallas. What this blog is trying to capture are the remnants of the many Texas drive-ins that can still be seen and to document what still exists of the dead and gone ones.

I have done another drive-in post for the Blue Starlite Mini Urban Drive-in located in Austin, where I also work occasionally (book us for parties or check us out at austindrivein.com!), and this blog certainly inspires in my quest for understanding why drive-ins are so terrific. In the state of Texas alone there are reportedly the remains (in all states of condition including wiped off the map) of 404 abandonded drive-ins. Not to be totally doomsday about the drive-in, there are still roughly 17 still operating in the state. This site has a great catalogue of all the drive-in of Texas, and any state.

Ok, so the blog is really my pet project that I’ve been meaning to get started on since moving to Texas in August. The first drive-in I recorded was the Starlite Theater outside the town of Brenham. It was a fun trip and I’m looking forward to doing many others. The next drive-in venture will be at the Old 87 Drive-in located in Fredericksburg. So, if interested in what happens, check out my other blog. I won’t update it on a schedule, because I just cannot be that punctual with everything.

§ One Response to Abandoned Drive-ins of Texas

  • Kyle Bell says:

    Hi there!
    I’m going to Texas to shoot a video project on Drive-ins this summer! Have you elaborated on this project since you posted this? Please write me back. I am interested to hear of your experiences with abandoned drive-ins.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Abandoned Drive-ins of Texas at Add.a.m.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

